MORE than 1200 runners from places as far apart as Shetland and the United States pounded the streets for a popular annual athletics event last Wednesday.

The 33rd Troon 10k was staged on the esplanade and took the usual route towards Fullarton Drive and back along the beach.

There were also some 350 people taking part in the children’s run, which preceded the main race.

Troon Times:

Troon Tortoises Club President Darrell Dunscombe said: “This is always a mass participation night and everything went well. It was phenomenal - we sold out 16 hours after entries were opened in March - that’s our fastest ever sell-out. We had a lady called Fiona Roy from Canada running - she was on vacation in Helensburgh. Most of the athletes are all from the KA postcode - it’s the first 10k of the season.”

Lead male in the main race was American Michael Deason of Shettleston Harriers. He won the race for  a second time and clocked up a time of 32min 15sec, some four seconds clear of Richard Mair (Kilmarnock Harriers) and 35 seconds ahead of Irvine veteran David Millar.

He said: “I won it in 2012 was runner-up last year. The course was good and conditions were fine. It was an exciting finish, I hadn’t expected the guy from Kilmarnock to be close. The organisation was brilliant. Every year I hope it will be 25C and sunny but it doesn’t happen. I was pleased with my run.”

Ayrshire-born Avril Mason made  it a double for Shettleston Harriers when she was leading woman for the second year running.

The former Kilmarnock woman successfully defended her title.

She said: “It was great to win it again, I ran a similar time to last year and was hoping to be a we bit faster but it was a bit windier on the way back.”

John Owens of Irvine group Ron’s Runners won the Scottish Building Society Running Achievement in Adversity award after clocking up 1000 miles last year for Davie’s Run, in memory of his best friend, David Davis. He lined up in the Stirling and London Marathons, plus the Troon 10k.

Top 10
1 Michael Deason (Shettleston Harriers) 32:15
2 Richard Mair (Kilmarnock Harriers) 32:19
3 David Millar (Irvine Running Club) 32:50
4 Jonathan Roebuck 32:55
5 Grant Baillie (East Kilbride AC) 33:14
6 Kenneth Neill (Ayr Seaforth AC) 34:00
7 Steve Daye (Shetland AAC) 34:27
8 Craig Ferguson (Kilmarnock Harriers) 35:33
9 Adrian Young(Ayrodynamic Triathlon Club 35:41
10 Keith Haining (Jog Stewarton) 35:45